Pottering around

Today I didn’t have to go to work and I had the house to myself all day while my husband was working. I did quite a lot of things. I fed the dogs, fed the cats, fed the fish (we have 4 largest tanks in our house, you might even call it a special interest ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜). I cleaned the coffee machine, did several loads of laundry, checked the household accounts, cut the grass, did some weeding, walked to vet surgery to register new kitten due to arrive next week. Bought some cat toys in the pet shop and walked back home. Changed some water in the fish tanks and did general weekly maintenance. Vacuumed the floors, filled the dishwasher and made my lunch and also some mushroom soup to take to work for lunch. Read the leaflet from the vet about a new kitten. 

Basically I did something and nothing. It wasn’t done in a straight line, I flitted from one task to another and back again, then back around in a circle again as my mind skipped and jumped from one thing to another. I did manage to complete most of the tasks (although there is a lot of loose paperwork still on the table from my admin morning) which is good going for me at home. I simply allowed the day to unfold all by itself, allowing one task to suggest another, no time pressure, no one to see if I left a mess behind myself and I could do whatever I chose to do. 

It was utter bliss. A few days of “pottering time” as I prefer to call my solitary de-peopling days, and I always feel renergised and relaxed at the same time, ready to take on and cope in the NT world yet again. 

Yes. Indeed it has been a good day today. 

Author: thiswomanisdifferent

Coming to terms with Asperger's syndrome at 56 years old.

One thought on “Pottering around”

  1. Those days are completely wonderful, aren’t they? Sort of like a reset button or a sigh of relief. “Something and nothing” really sums it up ๐Ÿ™‚ I think that what was accomplished can’t necessarily be defined or quantified – but something was accomplished just the same. Sort of a resting and liberation of the spirit, maybe? ๐Ÿ™‚ โค

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

